Sample Code for Reading?

Dec 9, 2013 at 6:47 PM
Hi,

I am new to serial port programming in general. From the documentation, it seems as though you have solved a lot of the difficulties with Serial port programming.

I would like to write a .net 4.0 console program that reads continually from a serial port on my GPS unit. Do you have any samples that I can use to get me going.

TIA
Coordinator
Dec 9, 2013 at 6:59 PM
Edited Dec 9, 2013 at 6:59 PM
Hi, the code is designed to be relatively simple to use. Take head (there's been a few bugfixes since the last change), compile it using VS2012 (Desktop Express works well).

The best source of working code comes from the unit tests, SerialPortStreamTest.cs. A good test case is SerialPortStream_WriteReadLine_Multilines.

There you'll learn how to send data, receive data.

I assume you're talking about NMEA, so you'll have to read each individual line of text, then implement your parser on top. Ensure you set the encoding to something other than UTF8 (the default), e.g. iso-8859-15.

Regards,
Jason.
Marked as answer by jmcurl on 12/14/2014 at 3:50 AM
Dec 9, 2013 at 7:30 PM
Jason,

Thanks for the rapid response. Yes I am trying to read NMEA from the serial port and I have an nmea parser library which today handles input by using a bufferedstream to read from a file. So I am expecting to be able to use SerialPortStream to hand this nmea parser the bufferedstream object it is expecting. Does that sound like a good plan or am I likely to encounter problems?

I am using VS2010 and I am not able to move to VS2012 at this time. Is that an issue?

I have been able to compile the DLL.

Because I am only reading and not that interested in writing to a serial port at this time I created my own test project within the SerialPortStream solution.